• header_en
  • header_bn

Meeting Aprill, 2003

Discussion meeting on News Scan Database Report in Chittagong

TIB and Friends of TIB organized a discussion meeting with the journalists on the News Scan Database Report, 2002 on 2nd April, 2003 in Chittagong. TIB Research Associate Abdul Alim presented the key findings of the report. A number of journalists of Chittagong attended the meeting and took part in the discussion. The meeting was also attended by TIB Media Outreach Relations Officer Imam Uddin and TIB member Md. Hamidul Islam.

Performance of Rukhe Dandao (Resistance) in Baishakhi Fair

The Nalitabari theatre group performed its first production "Rukhe Dandao" (Resistance) in a Baishakhi Fair in Nalitabari on 16th April, 2003. A large audience enjoyed the production. Nalitabari CCC member Mahfuzur Rahman addressed the audience prior to the performance.

Theatre show

The Mymensingh Theatre Group produced its second production "The Land of Red and Green"- Lal Shabujer Deshe. The main theme of the production is corruption in different sectors. The premier show was held on 28th April, 2003 at the Muslim Institute in Mymensingh. An audience of more than a hundred enjoyed the performance. Most the CCC members of Mymensingh were present during the occasion. Professor A.K.M Abdul Kuddus Miah of Mymensingh Agricultural University inaugurated the production.

Investigative Journalism Awards-2002

Transparency International Bangladesh awarded four reporters for their outstanding contribution to investigative journalism. The prize giving ceremony of the Investigative Journalism Awards 2002 was held on 26th April, 2003 at the National Press Club. Mr. Fokhre Alam of Doinik Janakantha and Zayadul Ahsan (Pintu) of the Daily Star jointly won the award. Each received Tk 50 thousand, certificates and crests.

Alam was chosen for his series report 'Sundarban: Bhumi Dakhal Kore Gore Utheche Basati' published on February, 2001. Pintu was picked for his report titled 'Idris pays for whose fault?' published in June-August 2001.

Kazi Hafiz of Doinik Manabzamin won the second prize while Anwar Hossain Mintu, Jamalpur correspondent of Doinik Janakantha won the third.

Renowned economist and member, Board of Trustees, TIB, Professor Muzaffer Ahmad moderated the ceremony. The advisor of the former caretaker government M. Hafizuddin Khan and TIB member Major General (Retd) Imamuz Zaman were present at the occasion.